信心的成長

4天中的第1天 • 今天的閱讀內容

靈修

認識上帝的旨意



活在上帝旨意之外會讓我們陷入危險之中;活在上帝旨意之內會讓我們成為危險人物。—— Erwin McManus 



在基督裡的成長,有一部分是去學習我們有當負的責任。沒錯,上帝奇妙的能力會改造我們,但我們要參與在這個變化過程之中。雖然上帝不需要我們做什麼就可以干預我們的生活,但祂沒有那麼做——我們有自由來做自己的選擇。



我們經常在生活中表現的很急躁,因為我們想要以超過常理的速度,得到想要的結果。我們才去健身房一個星期,就希望擁有最理想的身材。我們才上工一個月,就希望事業步步高升。我們才剛認識朋友,就希望馬上成為永遠的好朋友。但這些希望都需要我們付出努力才可以實現。我們要 持之以恆地待在健身房,在工作上勤奮努力,以及在友誼上全心投入, 然後 我們便會得到所希望的成果。



聖經羅馬書 12:2 有一個類似的例子:「不要效法這個世界,只要心意更新而變化,叫你們察驗何為上帝的善良、純全、可喜悅的旨意。」



那聽起來很奇妙,不是嗎?我們都希望在這世上生活時,可以辨認出上帝的旨意。這一節經文告訴我們,我們的確可以做得到。但是,我們需要決定不去跟隨這個世界的標準,內心被改造。



要我們相信自己能夠「察驗」什麼是上帝的旨意,接著卻又我行我素,那樣豈不是有點像在唱反調?假如我們為自己而活,不接受上帝的帶領,我們又怎麼可能知道祂的計畫是什麼呢?跟從耶穌並不代表我們所作的抉擇都會是完美的;它真正代表的是我們 正在 尋求耶穌。當我們這樣做的時候,耶利米書 29:13 說我們必尋見祂。而當我們尋見祂時,就會開始看到祂放在我們面前的目標及計畫。



我們需要認清一點:我們所做的一切都不能賺得救恩。耶穌死在十字架上已經徹徹底底地遮蓋我們所有的罪。但若 我們的信心 成長 ,我們的確有應盡的本分。



在接下來三天的讀經計畫裏,我們會從聖經中其它章節查看我們 首先 需要做什麼,才可以得着列舉的屬靈福份。



思考

你是否感到自己已認同了世界的標準?你生活中那方面有這樣的跡象?祈求上帝讓你看到你在哪些事情上跟從了世界,而不是在尋求上帝。

Growing Your Faith

Day 1 of 4 • This day’s reading

Devotional

Knowing God’s Will


To live outside of God’s will puts us in danger; to live in His will makes us dangerous. — Erwin McManus 


Part of growing in Christ is learning that we have a part to play in it. Yes, it’s the amazing power of God that’s transforming us, but we participate in the transformative process. While God could intervene in our lives in a way that we don’t have to do anything, He doesn’t—we’re free to make our own choices. 


We often exhibit impatience in our lives and want to get to the result quicker than is reasonable. We want to be in our best shape ever after going to the gym for a week. We want to climb the career ladder after being on the job for a month. We want to have lifelong friendships shortly after we become friends. These desires are only fulfilled once we’ve put in effort. When we’ve stayed consistent at the gym, worked hard at our job, and invested in our friendships, then we get results. 


A similar example we find in the Bible is in Romans 12:2, “Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—His good, pleasing and perfect will.” (NIV)


That sounds amazing, right? We’d love to be able to discern His will while we live on earth. And this verse tells us that we can truly do just that. But, we have to make the choice to not conform to the world’s standard, but instead, be inwardly transformed first. 


For us to believe that we can “test and approve” what God’s plans are and then live our lives in any way we want seems a bit backwards, doesn’t it? If we’re living for ourselves and not allowing God to lead us, how is it possible to know what God’s plans are? This doesn’t mean that we make perfect choices in our pursuit of following Jesus. What it does mean is that we are pursuing Jesus. As we do, Jeremiah 29:13 says that we’ll find Him. And when we find Him, we’ll start to see His purposes and plans laid out before us. 


Let’s be clear: we don’t do anything to earn our salvation. Jesus covered that once and for all by dying on the cross. But when it comes to growing our faith, we do have a part to play. 


In the next three days of this Plan, we’ll look at other passages in the Bible where we play a part first before yielding the spiritual benefits listed.


Reflect

Do you feel that you have “conformed” to the world’s standards? In what areas of your life do you see this? Ask God to show you where you’ve chosen to follow the ways of the world instead of seeking God.