يا الله، أين أنت ؟! مع جون بيفير

تعبدي

أين أنت؟


هل سبق لك أن مررت بوقت بدا فيه أن الرب قريب جدًا لدرجة أن كل ما عليك فعله هو أن تهمس باسمه ليكون هناك حاضرا للاستجابة؟


ولكن هناك أوقات أخرى قد تكون قد تركت له فيها رسالة تلو الأخرى ، ولكنه بدا وكأنه قد اختفى تمامًا من حياتك. ربما هذا حالك الآن والسؤال الذي تريد أن تصرخ به في سكونك هو صرخة الكثيرين ممن يجدون أنفسهم في المكان الجاف والصعب نفسه: "يا إلهي ، أين أنت؟"


لقد اختبرتُ فترة الجفاف الأولى لي كمؤمن شاب أثناء إقامتي في دالاس ، تكساس ، في أوائل الثمانينيات. عندما دخلت بسذاجة هذا الموسم القاحل ، شعرت وكأن الله قد تخلى عني. قبل ذلك ، كل ما كان علي فعله هو الصراخ وكان الرب يستجيب على الفور. أذكر كيف كان يجيب بسرعة على أكثر طلباتي تفاهةً. كان حضوره قريبًا جدًا وواضحًا وقويًا.


الآن ، لم أعد أعرف ما يحدث. كنت على ركبتي يومًا بعد يوم ، أصرخ ، "يا إلهي ، ما الذي يحدث؟ يبدو أنك على بعد مليون ميل! "


خلال هذا الوقت ، ظللت أراجع حياتي وأسأل ، "ما الخطيئة الفظيعة التي ارتكبتها؟"


حسنًا ، بالحقيقة ، بالطبع ، مثل كل شخص على هذه الأرض ، كنت انزلق بشكل دوري إلى الخطيئة ، لكنني أيضًا كنت أتوب سريعًا وأطلب المغفرة التي يقدمها يسوع. على حد علمي ، لم تكن هناك خطيئة مستمرة ومتعمدة في حياتي.


"يا رب ، لماذا لا تتحدث معي بعد الآن؟" طرحت هذا السؤال يوماً جافاً تلو الآخر. عندما شعرت بأن السماء وكأنها من نحاس ، وجدت نفسي في مرحلة حرجة - هل سأتخلى عن سعيي وراء الله ، شاعراً بالرفض و النسيان؟ أم سأقاوم في سعي الحماسي نحو من تحبه نفسي


اخترت الأخير ولم يكن ذلك مخيباً للأمل. البرية الروحية بجفافها هي المكان الذي سنكتشف فيه ما نتوق إليه حقًا - الله أم أشياء هذا العالم؟ إذا سمحنا له بذلك ، فالله في البرية سيجردنا من الرغبات الشريرة وسيخلق فينا قلبًا يشتهيه قبل كل شيء.

God, Where Are You?! With John Bevere

Day 1 of 7 • This day’s reading

Devotional

Where Are You? 

Have you ever had a time where it seemed like the Lord was so close that all you had to do was whisper His name and He was right there and answered right then?

But then the time came when you left Him one message after another, and He seemed to have totally disappeared from your life. Maybe that’s where you are now and your question, which you want to shout in the stillness, is the cry of many who find themselves in a dry and difficult place: “God, where are You?!”

I experienced my first wilderness season as a young believer while living in Dallas, Texas, during the early eighties. As I naïvely entered this barren season, I felt like I had been abandoned by God. Before this, all I had needed to do was cry out and the Lord would instantly respond. I remember Him quickly answering the most trivial of requests. His presence was so near, evident, and strong. 

Now, I just could not figure out what was happening. I was on my knees, day after day, crying out, “God, what is going on? It seems like You are a million miles away!”

During this time, I kept reviewing my life and asking, “What terrible sin have I committed?”

Well, the truth was, of course, that like every person on the planet, I periodically slipped into sin, but I also was quickly repenting and asking for the forgiveness that Jesus offers. To my knowledge, there was not some persistent, willful sin in my life.

“God, why aren’t You talking to me anymore?” I asked on one dry day after another. As the heavens felt like brass, I found myself at a critical juncture—would I give up my pursuit of God, feeling rejected or forgotten? Or would I press through the resistance with a passionate pursuit of the lover of my soul? 

I chose the latter and was not disappointed. The wilderness is where we will discover what we truly hunger for—God, or the things of this world? If we allow Him to, the wilderness is where God will strip away ungodly desires and will create in us a heart that desires Him above all else.