اعطِ لعملك معنى

اليوم 1 من 4 • قراءات اليوم

تعبدي

معنى عملنا هو باختيارنا


في تكوين 5:39-7 و 9، حلم يوسف بدعوة عظيمة من الله لحياته. حلم بكونه في مركز قوة حتى أن أفراد عائلته يسجدون له. غار منه إخوته و أرادوا التخلص من أخيهم الأصغر. عندما كانوا في مكان بعيد عن المنزل و ذهب يوسف بمفرده لينظر إخوته، انتهزوا الفرصة و باعوه كعبد. يمكننا القول بأن يوسف واجه تغيرًا كبيرًا في مساره.


أُجبر يوسف على العمل كعبد في أرضٍ غريبة حيث لا يخاف الناس الله، ولكنهم لا يستطيعون سلبه حريته في اختيار توجهه تجاه عمله. لم يدع يوسف دوره يحدد هويته. بالرغم من أنه كان يعمل لدى فوطيفار، إلا أن يوسف اختار أن يخدم الله و يؤدي عمله على أكمل وجه. كنتيجة لذلك، أعطى الله يوسف نجاحًا في كل ما يفعله، وجعله فوطيفار مسئولًا عن كل ما يملك.


لدى كل منا أحلام عن العمل الذي نرغب في تأديته. ربما يكون ما تفعله الآن أبعد ما يكون عما حلمت به. أيًا كان، كلنا نختار – شعوريًا أو لا شعوريًا – ما يعنيه العمل لكل منا. المعنى الذي نعطيه لعملنا هو الذي يحدد موقفنا منه، والذي يؤثر بدوره على جودة و كفاءة عملنا، كما يؤثر على الكيفية التي يستخدمنا بها الله. 


لدينا الحرية في اختيار معنى إيجابي لما نفعله. عندما نفعل ذلك، من الأرجح أننا لن نؤدي فقط عملنا بصورة أفضل، ولكننا سنسمح للآخرين أيضًا برؤية المسيح من خلالنا. في النهاية، هويتنا هي في المسيح، وليست فيما نفعله. اطلب من الله أن يريك مفهومه هو لعملك، وقيمته في ملكوته.


صلاة


أبى السماوي، ساعدني أن أرى عملي اليوم كما تراه أنت. ساعدني لأتذكر أنك تستخدم كل ما أفعله بإتقان و أعطيه من محبتي لأجلك لأظهر للناس محبة المسيح. ليُرى المسيح من خلالي لهؤلاء الذين أعمل معهم اليوم. في اسم المسيح. آمين.


للمزيد


اكتشف كيف ترى المعنى في أكثر الأعمال اعتيادًا في مدونة Workmatters.

Give Your Work Meaning

Day 1 of 4 • This day’s reading

Devotional

The Meaning of Our Work is Our Choice

In Genesis 37:5-7 and 9, Joseph had dreams of a great calling God put on his life. He dreamt he would be in a position of power so that even his own family members would bow down to him. His brothers became jealous and wanted to get rid of their younger brother. When they were far from home and Joseph came out alone to check up on them, they grabbed the opportunity and sold him into slavery. You could say, Joseph experienced a major detour.

Joseph was forced to work as a slave in a foreign land where the people had no regard for God, but they couldn’t take away his freedom to choose his attitude toward his work. Joseph didn’t let his role define him. Although his boss was Potiphar, Joseph chose to serve God and do his work with excellence. As a result, God gave Joseph success in everything he did, and Potiphar put Joseph in charge of everything he owned.

We all have dreams of the work we want to do. Perhaps the work you’re doing is a far cry from the dreams you’ve had. No matter what, we all choose – consciously or unconsciously – what our work means to us. The meaning we give our work determines the attitude we have about it, which affects the quality and excellence we bring to our work, and that affects how God can use us. 

We have the freedom to choose a positive meaning for our work. When we do, we are more likely to not only do our work well, but also allow others to see Christ in us. Ultimately, our identity is in Christ, not our work. Ask God to show you His meaning for your work in His kingdom.

Prayer

Father God, help me to see my work through Your eyes today. Help me to remember that You use all work that I do with excellence out of my love for You to show Christ’s love to others. May those I work with see Christ in me today. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

For Further Exploration

Discover how to find purpose in our most ordinary work in this Workmatters blog.