Nehemiah Introduction
The book of Nehemiah may be divided into four parts: (1) The return of Nehemiah to Jerusalem, where he has been sent by the Persian emperor to govern Judah. (2) The rebuilding of the walls of Jerusalem. (3) The solemn reading of the Law of God by Ezra and the people's confession of sin. (4) Further activities of Nehemiah as governor of Judah.
A notable feature of the book is the record of Nehemiah's deep dependence on God and his frequent prayers to him.
Outline of Contents
Nehemiah returns to Jerusalem (1.1—2.20)
The walls of Jerusalem are rebuilt (3.1—7.73)
The Law is read, and the covenant is renewed (8.1—10.39)
Further activities of Nehemiah (11.1—13.31)

Good News Translation® (Today’s English Version, Second Edition)

© 1992 American Bible Society. All rights reserved.

Bible text from the Good News Translation (GNT) is not to be reproduced in copies or otherwise by any means except as permitted in writing by American Bible Society, 101 North Independence Mall East, Floor 8, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2155 (

LICENSEE shall reproduce the following trademark and trademark notice on the copyright page of each copy of the Licensed Products: ®

Learn More About Good News Translation (US Version)